Project – A place for everything

Our little house is very little, it’s two and a half bedrooms, one bathroom and no storage.
I’ve spent quite a lot of time since we moved in getting rid of possessions, all that Tupperware that gets stuffed into cupboards, those clothes I might wear one day and over abundance of towels etc.

But there’s only so much minimising of belongs that you can practically do with a family, so my current project in this home is getting some storage in place and be able to put things away when we are done with them. The ideal would be that my house eventually actually looks like I’ve cleaned it, instead of looking like a tip.

Each week I’m going to try to do one thing, no matter how small that provides storage or maximizes my use of the space that we do have, while keeping items close to where they are actually used. The theory behind putting things where we use them is that I have more chance of the family putting things away when they are done with them (haha).

So far we’ve dragged our bookcase in and I’ve bought magazine holders for my magazines and boxes for Miss P’s ever expanding comic collection, nothing too revolutionary.

Today a trip to Bunning’s and an open mind has provided me with a cheap way to keep a guitar in the lounge but off the floor or couch. For just under $10 I’ve purchased a tool storage hook, intended for use with a slide rail. With some very minor modification it has now been screwed to the wall for a more minimal look.

First the hook.

20120816-142342.jpg

Out of the packaging.

20120816-142435.jpg

Modified by flicking the plastic branding off the metal bracket (told you it was minor)

20120816-142540.jpg

Lounge room wall before.

20120816-142618.jpg

Wall hook screwed in to a wall stud. The placement was decided by available wall studs as I didn’t want the weight of a guitar hanging off old plasterboard.

20120816-142735.jpg

With guitar.

20120816-142801.jpg

And the final view.

20120816-142847.jpg

I’d originally planned on hanging the small guitar alongside, but I think I’m going to keep it against the bookcase as Eve enjoys plucking the strings and I don’t want to deprive her of that. Now I have to decide if I’ll hang another out here or in our bedroom, there are seven altogether but eventually they’ll have a studio in the backyard to live in so I won’t be hanging them all in the house.

One thought on “Project – A place for everything

  1. Pingback: Project – a place for everything | Raised by Wolffs

Leave a Reply

