Taking the bad with the good

This wonderful planet, infused with the beauty of what we can do, the amazing ability of human beings to create, to care and to empathize with people on the other side of the world; it makes me feel so incredibly lucky that some magnificent accident caused me to exist and to bring my children into existence.

But then I hear of people justifying their open hatred of others by saying they do good things for those they despise, those people they say should change the way they were made, and I am deeply saddened.

In response to being criticised for their anti-gay lobbying ‘the Salvos responded last night by pointing out they helped Australia’s most marginalized and needy, including gay and transgendered people.’*

When you are actively campaigning to limit any group of people’s equality (or individual)  and indeed keep them marginalized any help you give them is nullified. A hand up can never be genuine when you are standing on someone’s neck. While the Salvation Army can choose to hide behind an interpretation of the bible I don’t believe that they should get to have it both ways.  My money will definitely not go into their pockets despite the good work that they do, that good work is also being done by others who don’t also use my donation to oppress people.

We donate whenever we can as a form of gratitude for the good fortune we have, it’s not always a lot but at each birthday and special occasion I set aside money to share what I can.  I realise now that it isn’t enough to give to an organisation based on the good it does, that I need to more carefully direct giving so that in giving I am not also helping to take away.

Salvos your excuse of the good you do does not cut it and I hope others will look more carefully before funding the bad with your good.

 

*Via Perth Now

6 thoughts on “Taking the bad with the good

  1. This is very upsetting. I’m sad I won’t be able to donate to the bell-ringers that stand outside the supermarket during the holiday season, but just like you I don’t support bigotry and hypocrisy.

  2. This is very upsetting. I’m sad I won’t be able to donate to the bell-ringers that stand outside the supermarket during the holiday season, but just like you I don’t support bigotry and hypocrisy.

Leave a Reply

