Breastfeeding bikkies

The last couple of weeks have been kind of hard, nothing major but a sleepless baby has made for a tired mummy and fed back into a drop in breastmilk supply.

On top of the obvious trying to rest and keeping my fluids up I decided to give lactation cookies a try. I modified the recipe from Peaceful Parenting so that it’s dairy free.

They turned out pretty well a tiny bit on the bitter side because of the chocolate I used but otherwise really yummy. My milk supply seems to have improved overnight so I’m thrilled with that.

20120117-131135.jpg

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups plain flour
1 3/4 cups oats
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3/4 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup Nuttelex
1 cup flax
3 Tblspn Brewers’ yeast
1/3 cup water
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup brown sugar loosely packed
2 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
2 pkt Lindt Excellence 85% cocoa chocolate chopped
1 cup walnuts chopped

Prep:

Preheat oven to 180 celsius

Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl, set aside.

In a large bowl beat Peanut butter, Nuttelex, brown sugar, vanilla, yeast, flax and water until creamy.
Mix in eggs.
Slowly beat in flour mixture, then add nuts and chocolate.
Finally slowly add oats ( my mixer struggled at this point so you may want to fold the oats through by hand ).

Place balls of dough onto lined or greased tray and squish slightly. Bake for approx 12 mins.

I baked between 10 and 12 mins so my bikkies are soft if you like crunchy cookies I’d suggest baking longer.

One thought on “Breastfeeding bikkies

Leave a Reply

