Meat (and dairy) free Monday

Since seeing how quitting dairy seems to have improved my skin I decided it was time to see how other modifications to my diet change my health.

So for at least a month or two I’m going to try meat free Mondays. Because I’m already dairy free some of the recipes will also be Vegan. Vegan bloggers have been a fantastic way for me to source dairy free baking options so where I come across these resources I’ll make sure to link them for any of you playing along in your home.

I’ve been missing carbonara since I cut out the dairy and while this isn’t a version of that it did satisfy my need for a creamy pasta sauce.

Basil Cream Sauce

Adapted from here

Ingredients:

2 Tblspn Oil, divided
1/4 cup chopped Onion
1 clove Garlic
1/2 cup chopped fresh Basil
1 Tblspn Flour
2 cups Oat milk
1/2 cup Cashews
1/2 tspn Sea Salt

Prep:

Using half of the oil heat onion and garlic over medium heat until onion is translucent; add the basil and cook until it is wilted. Set aside in a bowl.

Using the original saucepan heat remaining oil and whisk in the flour, cook until it smells toasted but not burnt. Slowly add oat milk stirring constantly and cook until thickened add the basil mixture and stir until combined. Remove from heat.

Blend the cashews to a fine powder then add the sea salt and basil mixture, process until creamy. Return to saucepan and heat to desired temperature and consistency add more oat milk or salt as desired.

Serve warm over pasta (I used Gnocchi)

20120113-191814.jpg

Simple, quick and tasty with the added bonus of being a cheap meal for the family. I’m calling my first meat free meal a success.

2 thoughts on “Meat (and dairy) free Monday

  1. I went on a huge liver cleanse for a month at the end of last year and felt amazing! No grains, no dairy, no red meat (and no lots of other yummy things). I’m still basically off wheat. We just ate really yummy dairy and sugar free coconut vanilla ice cream! (Made with coconut milk, sweetened with agave.) There are so many options out there now. xx

Leave a Reply

