Wednesday whimsy

Today a lovely surprise* arrived by courier. Aquaman entered a Cartoon Network competition and won a My Little Pony prize pack. The last few minutes have been spent discussing the merits of old school MLP vs the new incarnation** and Cobain explaining all the ways in which the toys don’t match the cartoon.
Eve, much like me, isn’t quite sure what to make of it.

20120111-152144.jpg

She was willing to have a taste test though. (we did take away any choke able parts).

20120111-152243.jpg

All in all it’s a pretty awesome prize pack so thanks Hasbro and Cartoon Network.

* a surprise in how quickly we received it we knew it was coming.

** I’m not going to go in to the body image or other theories on why they’ve changed from the classic styling.

3 thoughts on “Wednesday whimsy

  1. Congrats to Aquaman!!

    You have no idea what a co-incidence this post is.. I actually have a half drafted post of my own about charaters from my childhood.. mainly My Little Ponies.. how they don’t even look like horses anymore! And Strawberry Shortcake.. she used to be a cute babylike little doll and now she looks like a doe eyed leggy teen model.. WTF!? I never ended up posting becaues I couldnt quite verbalise exactly what I felt was wrong with it all but I’d actually love to hear yoru theories on why they’ve changed the classic styling..

Leave a Reply

